We invite you to enter your best custom residential designs in the 2024 Your Modern Cottage Design Awards Competition. Deadline to enter is March 27, 2024 at 11:59 p.m. EST. Keep reading for a summary of important information, but for complete details on how to enter, please CLICK HERE.

Competition and Entry Information

The Your Modern Cottage Design Awards program recognizes home designs that reflect our three principles of great residential design:

  • Homes designed for the uniqueness of the clients.
  • Homes built for today and the future.
  • Homes that are a retreat from the complexities of our world.

Special note: Your Modern Cottage believes that modern is not a design style, but a lifestyle. Therefore, we welcome designs of all styles and will judge projects based on how they respond to our design principles.

Entries will be judged by an independent jury of architects. (TBD)

All winning firms will receive notification of their award no later than April 26, 2024. All winning projects will be published on our website and throughout our social media channels. 

Entry Categories 

1. New Modern Cottages
Houses designed to take us away from the modern rush. These homes provide a retreat for the families that gather there, and provide a place where they can reconnect with each other. Size of homes can range, but should be no more than 4,800 square feet.

2. Modern Cottage Additions and Renovations
Houses specifically altered, adapted, and renovated for the families living within them. These designs transform a mundane house and turn it into something special.

3. Small Modern Cottages
There is a trend today to go small. But let’s face it, not all of us would feel comfortable in a 400-square-foot home. This category celebrates new modern cottages that are small and efficient but still accommodate a very comfortable, modern lifestyle. Cottages in this category will be capped at 1,600 square feet.

Featured home (Above) is the 2023 Winner, New Modern Cottages category by Elliott Architects

Photography Credit – Trent Bell Photography

For the 2023 winners in all categories, please visit here.